Governors who are members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have submitted the names of three presidential aspirants to President Muhammadu Buhari to select a consensus candidate from, Thewill reliably gathered this morning.

A reliable source told our source that the governors submitted the names in the early hours of Tuesday.

The Progressives northern govs. have first pruned the number of aspirants they are taking to PMB to 5. The names, according to the source, included that of the Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, former governor of Lagos State, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Governor Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti State), Rotimi Amaechi, former Minister of Transportation, and Governor Dave Umahi (Ebonyi State).

They’ve pruned further to 3 (Osinbajo, Amaechi & Tinubu) so that PMB can make his pick.

The governors had after meeting with the President said they will return to the villa after meeting with the party’s National Working Committee(NWC) and other stakeholders.

“They picked one from South-East, one from South-South and three from South-West geopolitical zones in line with their position that power should shift to the South,” he said.

He said the president is expected to pick from the list.

The presidential primary of the party holds today. The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan was named as the consensus candidate by the National Chairman, Senator Abdullahi Adamu. This was, however, punctured by the presidency.

Our source will bring you live updates from Eagle Square, Abuja, venue of the convention.


See also  Reps summon DSS, CBN, NNPC, Customs, issue warning to heads


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.