The national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Senator Abdullahi Adamu has announced Senate President Ahmed Lawan as consensus presidential aspirant of the ruling party.

The announcement was made on Monday by Adamu at the meeting of National Working Committee (NWC) in Abuja.

Other aspirants including Asiwaju Bola Tinubu; Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; Dr. Kayode Fayemi and David Umahi, among others will however be allowed to contest the primary at the convention holding tomorrow at the Eagle Square, Abuja.

The NWC members insisted other aspirants must be given a level playing ground to compete.

Adamu’s adoption of Lawan as consensus candidate is against the position of 11 APC northern Governors, who endorsed that power must shift to the South after President Muhammadu Buhari’s tenure.

Adamu told the National Working Committee that he arrived at the choice of Lawan after consultation with President Buhari.

See also  Plateau 2023: Chief Kefas Ropshik “Kefiano” Says Right Leadership Needed For a Prosperous Plateau State


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.